BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF MORGAN COUNTY, ILLINOIS RESOLUTION NO. 2019- _____ ESTABLISHMENT OF THE MORGAN COUNTY BOARD OF APPEALS

WHEREAS, the Morgan County Board of Commissioners desire to create a county board of appeals and to appoint the initial members to the "Morgan County Board of Appeals" (also to be referred to as the "Board of Appeals") in accordance with the authority provided for and the provisions set forth in Section 5-12010 of the Illinois Counties Code (55 ILCS 5/5-12010).

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE MORGAN COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. The appointment and removal authority and process, length of terms, membership, composition, authority and duties regarding the Board of Appeals shall be as stated in the applicable provisions of the Illinois Counties Code, including but not limited to 55 ILCS 5/5-12010 (Board Of Appeals), 5/5-12011 (Hearing And Decision Of Board Of Appeals), 5/5-12012 (Hearing Of Appeal; Review Under Administrative Review Law), 5/5-12012.1 (Actions Subject To De Novo Review; Due Process), 5/5-12013 (Compensation Of The Board Of Appeals), as amended, and the Board of Appeals shall exist and operate for purposes of performing such statutory duties, including the review of applications for wind and/or solar development projects and any other matters the Morgan County Board of Commissioners assign to the Board of Appeals.

Section 2. In accordance with 55 ILCS 5/5-12010, each member of the Board of Appeals is appointed by the Chair of the County Board with the advice and consent of the County Board, and the appointing authority shall have the power to remove any member of the Board of Appeals for cause, after public hearing. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority for the unexpired term of any member whose place has become vacant. One of the members so appointed shall be named as chairman at the time of his/her appointment, and, in case of a vacancy, the appointing power shall designate a successor chairman.

1

Section 3. In accordance with 55 ILCS 5/5-12010 (Board of Appeals), the initial Board of Appeals is comprised of the following individuals, who shall serve initial terms as follows:

- 1. Dale Bainter (initial term: one year)
- 2. Terry Denison (initial term: two years)
- 3. Jim Duncan (initial term: three years)
- 4. Roger Hardy (initial term: four years)
- 5. Dan Little (initial term: five years) (Appointed as initial chairman)

Approved this ____ day of December, 2019.

Bradley A. Zeller, Chairman

Ginny Fanning, Member

Bill Meier, Member

_____ AYE/NAY _____

_____ AYE/NAY _____

_____ AYE/NAY _____

Attest:

Jill S. Waggener, County Clerk